I am a tiger

Recently, after having a few pictures taken in a dress that was too tight, I looked at them and my first thought was that I looked terrible. My once defined arms now had no definition, the dress was bunching in places it shouldn’t and I noticed a difference in the size of my calves. I am by no means fat, but I while being pregnant I gained enough weight to make it impossible to pull my pre-pregnancy pants over my thighs. It’s a hard concept to grasp that you maintain a healthy lifestyle to support and nurture this tiny being inside of you but something goes wrong, the baby is gone but the weight and effects of being pregnant remain.

It took me a while to come around but I finally had to tell myself-stop it, you are perfect as you are. Yes, my arms lack the definition they once had, my abs all but disappeared, my thighs jiggle and I have stretch marks where there never were before but THAT IS OK. I have always been a healthy person and while I continued that healthy lifestyle while I was pregnant I gained weight like any other pregnant woman does. That is part of being pregnant and becoming a mother. Things sag, jiggle and stretch where they never did before, clothes will fit you differently and you need to EMBRACE that change because it is part of the journey.

9 thoughts on “I am a tiger

  1. You are beautiful Anna and you always have been. I think you look amazing just the way you are! Anybody who judges you for that should take a long look in the mirror to reevaluate what kind if a person they are. Keep you head up and those abs will shine through. Cheers to the girls who like to eat and don’t have to weight 100lbs to feel beautiful!

Thoughts?

