Free as a bird

Ever since I was a little girl I have had a fascination with birds. I remember spotting new birds on one of my many adventures as a kid and I would run inside to research them in one of my Dad’s bird books. There was something so majestic and free about how they would glide effortlessly through the air that made the little girl in me dream. As I grew up, that childhood fascination has evolved into a love of everything from their quirky behaviors to beautiful vintage art. The cake topper and center pieces at our wedding even featured a love bird theme.

It sounds silly, I know, but after we lost Deidre I began to see more of those colorful birds that I fell in love with as a kid. Whether I am glancing out of the window at work, taking Bailey for a walk or sitting outside at the house there always seems to be a memory from my childhood close by. Maybe it’s the dreamer in me, but I feel like in a way she is letting me know that she is happy and carefree as little girls should be.

“Be as a bird perched on a frail branch that she feels bending beneath her, still she sings away all the same, knowing she has wings.”

~Victor Hugo

2 thoughts on “Free as a bird

  1. after my grandpa died, my grandma started to see cardinals everywhere. still to this day she keeps a cardinal bird feeder up year round, just in case my grandpa is hungry! i believe diedre is showing herself in anyway possible to show you that she is always with you. she wants to watch over you and make sure you are ok.

Thoughts?

