DIY: Kitchen art project

I set out this morning on a mission to Target, Marshalls and Big Lots to find cheap Christmas decorations for outside. Instead, I came home with only one decoration (that is indoor-of course) and inspiration for a quick and easy art project for the kitchen.

The walls in our kitchen are bare. It drives me crazy but we spent so much time fixing the walls to look as nice as they do now and I wanted to make sure that I wasn’t going to get tired of whatever we decided to hang.

The color scheme in the kitchen consists of browns, greens and blues which is about a billion times better that the old apple wall paper the previous owners had. While browsing through Big Lots I found a big book of scrapbook paper in our color scheme with some awesome designs. I was immediately reminded of an episode I’d seen of Design on a Dime and knew this idea was going to be perfect for those bare kitchen walls. I picked up 2 white pictures frames from Target and headed for home.

What you need

  • Decorative paper
  • Picture frames
  • Scissors
  • Tape or glue
  • Any additional accessories you want to add (I used some old leaf coasters that I’ve had forever)

This project is really stupidly simple.

  1. Cut your paper to fit in the frame. The ones I bought came with a mat so I cut the paper slightly larger than the cut out in the mat and I taped to the back of the mat.
  2. Place your accessories wherever you want and secure them to the paper with tape or glue.
  3. Put everything in the frame. Like so…

Last but not least – hang or place the pictures where you want! I hung these beauties right above our newly painted kitchen table along with a wall sconce I already had.

I could have used bigger frames to take up a bit more space since that wall is so long but overall, I love it!

Total Cost: $25!!

  • Decorative paper – $5 at Big Lots
  • Picture frames -$10 each at Target
  • Leaf coasters – already owned
  • Scissors and tape – already owned

Happy crafting everyone!

3 thoughts on “DIY: Kitchen art project

  1. I think my wife might have entered the wrong field. I know she is a great therapist but her eye for decor is pretty uncanny. It looks lovely btw

Thoughts?

