White Christmas

I can’t believe that I’m actually going to say this…. I am longing for a White Christmas which  is strange coming from me because I hate snow. Actually I should clarify – I like watching snow, I like how pretty an open area of untouched snow is, I like seeing the moonlight reflecting off of a field of snow and I love the giant fluffy flakes. On the other hand I hate driving in snow, I hate shoveling snow, I hate how dirty everything looks once the roads are cleared and I hate that our gutters turn into a giant icicle once the snow starts melting off of the roof.

I believe that there is an unwritten law of Christmas that in order for it to be official, there needs to be snow on the ground. There is something about the twinkling lights reflecting off of the snow, smoke coming from a chimney, a roaring fire in the fireplace and your loved ones gathering all warm and cozy around the tree that makes this season so lovely.

I am looking forward to spending time with family over the next few days. Unfortunately, I have to work on Christmas Day but I am lucky enough to be able to celebrate with my family on Christmas Eve. It’s been a pretty rough year for the Paulsen family and it will be nice to be able to relax and enjoy the quiet bliss of the Holidays. I hope that each of you are able to enjoy time with your loved ones as well.

“The family.  We were a strange little band of characters trudging through life sharing diseases and toothpaste, coveting one another’s desserts, hiding shampoo, borrowing money, locking each other out of our rooms, inflicting pain and kissing to heal it in the same instant, loving, laughing, defending, and trying to figure out the common thread that bound us all together.”

~Erma Bombeck

Thoughts?

