Road rules

I can’t get over the awesome “winter” we are having! It’s January and I ate lunch outside and took B for a walk in a t-shirt…how strange! Of course as I say this, I am knocking on wood because I’m sure I just jinxed us into a long and miserably cold spring. For now, I will enjoy the beautiful weather because the next few days are going to seem crazy cold after the day we had.

Crazy. Just downright crazy.

This warm weather has reminded me of one of my biggest pet peeves that I usually get a break from during the winter months. I know that this is probably going to raise hell with some friends of mine but I’ve gotta say it. Bicyclists on the road annoy the crap out of me! Anyone else find this to be an issue? Don’t get me wrong, I am all about biking for fitness and to be environmentally conscious… but use some brains, people!

I feel like our community isn’t bike friendly at all. There is one bike lane in the entire city that I’ve seen and it only lasts about 2 blocks. Does anyone know of any other ones? Most sidewalks are not in a condition that is suitable for biking on so that leaves traffic lanes. While I do agree that bicyclists have as much right to the road as motorists do, THEY STILL HAVE TO OBEY THE SAME TRAFFIC LAWS THE REST OF CIVILIZATION DOES! This is where the problem lies and my pet peeve turns me into the red monster of rage.

I rarely see a bicyclist obeying even the most simple of traffic laws. Yes, I am talking to you male college student wearing capris riding down the middle of two lanes of traffic when I left the gym today. Did you see how many cars had to pull over for you because you were weaving in and out of lanes to pass parked cars? Didn’t think so. You see that big red thing in front of you? It’s called a stop sign. Yup, it sure does mean that you have to stop at it like the rest of us are. Nope, it doesn’t mean that you can plow right through into cross traffic flipping a bus driver off because he almost nailed you when you cut him off. You’re lucky the people around you were paying attention today because it could have ended poorly for you.

Anyhoo, this concludes my daily rant. I’ll go ahead and put my soap box away for safe keeping…for now 🙂 I hope you all are enjoying the beautiful day and you have a fabulous rest of the week!

Thoughts?

