15 weeks

Well hello, week 15! Nice to see you!

Please forgive the terrible photo quality above. Bless his heart, but my husband tried to snap a few photos for me yesterday and they were all terrible. Love you honey, but I might leave the picture-taking to Lizz 🙂 . I was able to save the one above but I had to crop my face out – there was no way that was going to see the light of day!

I’m excited that things have been going so smoothly but still nervous about things that I have no control over. I suppose that’s the nature of the beast though and it’s easy to rely too heavily on past events. I’ll admit, I have been feeling guilty about how excited I am for this pregnancy and to meet the little one. I still think about Deidre everyday, and I find myself hoping that she is watching with as much hope and happiness as we are.

Ever since passing the second trimester mark, I have been feeling great. I’ve gotten most of my energy back, I rarely feel nauseated and as you can see, I’m actually starting to look pregnant. 15 weeks is an odd time to start recording my weekly bump progress, I know, but to be honest we just happened to have some time yesterday and I was actually dressed in normal clothes so I thought it was just as good of a time as any.

I debated for a while how much to share on the blog and finally decided to use this as sort of a pregnancy diary with a weekly summary of various things. I know a few people like to be updated and it will be a good way for me to remain on track for different goals. I think it will be a fun way for me to look back at each week and see how I’ve progressed!

Here’s a nice summary of the past 14 weeks:

How far along? Currently just over 15 weeks.

Maternity clothes? Not many, just recently started wearing a few maternity shirts here and there.

Sleep? Decent. Would be better if the dog would stopped jumping off the bed multiple times a night.

Best moment of the week? Getting an all clear and some good pictures at our ultrasound!

Miss anything? Not being able to order a Chicago Dog at lunch today or have a beer after a day of working on the house.

Movement? A few flutters here and there.

Food Cravings? Anything orange and anything spicy. I might need to buy stock in orange Sunkist!

Anything making you sick? Chicken and turkey, although now I can eat chicken as long as it is in small amounts, is smothered in something or its breaded.

Gender? Don’t know and not going to find out. 🙂

Workouts? Walked a total of 12 miles this week and did a ton of work on the nursery this weekend.

Looking forward to?  More work on the nursery and feeling this little peanut squirming around more!

Here is some exciting things happening this week!

“Your growing baby now measures about 4 inches long, crown to rump, and weighs in at about 2 1/2 ounces. She’s busy moving amniotic fluid through her nose and upper respiratory tract, which helps the primitive air sacs in her lungs begin to develop. Her legs are growing longer than her arms now, and she can move all of her joints and limbs. Although her eyelids are still fused shut, she can sense light. If you shine a flashlight at your tummy, for instance, she’s likely to move away from the beam. There’s not much for your baby to taste at this point, but she is forming taste buds. Finally, if you have an ultrasound this week, you may be able to find out whether your baby’s a boy or a girl!”

~ Information found at Baby Center 

2 thoughts on “15 weeks

Thoughts?

