Special DIY: Pregnancy Announcement!

Sorry for the non-stop baby related posts lately…I’m excited and just can’t stop! So deal with it! 🙂 Just kidding, there were a few things I’ve been saving to share with everyone until we made it internet official,  including our announcement! The timing was pretty perfect for us to tell our families at Christmas (although I’m sure most everyone had already figured it out by then. Something about various holidays and me not drinking tipped them off 😉 ) and I debated for a long time how to do it. Should we just tell them or should we do something fun? My good friend Kara convinced me that it needed to be something big so I decided what better way than having our parents open up some sort of gift that told them. And let me tell you, their reactions were sooo worth it!

Growing up, my siblings and I got a new Christmas ornament every year. We usually got to pick it out at this wonderland call the Mistletoe Ranch on our yearly vacations to South Dakota and it could have been one of my favorite parts of the trip. What better way to announce our new bundle of joy than to make our parents a new ornament. Off to Mangelsen’s I went and before long I had exactly what I needed.  I warn you ahead of time, I was so excited to make these half of the pictures that I took turned out terrible so I will spare you the horror of looking at those.

What you need

  • Decorative paper
  • Glass ornaments
  • X-acto knife and scissors
  • Spray adhesive
  • Vinyl stickers
  • Wooden stick
  • Rafia or ribbon
  • Letter and number stickers

Again…way to easy

  • Smooth your stickers onto the front of the ornament with the wooden stick. I used the same vinyl stickers that I’ve used in the past – super easy to work with.
  • Place your glass ornaments on the side of the paper you don’t want showing through the front of the ornament and trace the outside of the ornament. Cut out the shape from the paper.
  • Spray the backside side of the ornament with the adhesive spray and carefully place the ornament on the side of the paper you want to show through so that all of the edges line up. Allow to dry.
  • Clean up the edges with your scissors or an X-acto knife.
  • On the back side of the ornament, use your letter and number stickers to say whatever you want it to say. These said “Due July 2012”.
  • Tie rafia or fun ribbon through the ornament .

I did these in a bit of a hurry because I was so excited so the finished product wasn’t exactly the way I wanted it. The adhesive spray I used dried a little funny and you can see it through the glass. Overall though, I’m pretty happy! They turned out pretty cute and they were a hit when our parents opened them. My sister was able to get some great pictures of my parents and my sister-in-law Cassie got a great video of Sean’s family.

Total Cost: $19.65!

  • 1 sheet scrapbook paper – .69c
  • Glass ornaments – $12.99 for a 4 pack
  • Vinyl stickers – $2.98 ($1.49 a piece)
  • Letter and number stickers – $2.99
  • X-acto knife and scissors – already owned
  • Spray adhesive – already owned
  • Wooden stick – already owned
  • Rafia – already owned

Not too shabby for a keepsake that will last forever!

One thought on “Special DIY: Pregnancy Announcement!

Thoughts?

