17 weeks

Welcome to Week 17!

Blech. Ear-splitting, nausea-inducing headaches + attempting to use a self timer on a crappy camera do not make for a pleasant picture taking experience. 

The past week was kind of a weird week for me. It was my weekend to work so I had about a week off before I worked 1 day then was off for 2 more before working the weekend. Confusing? A little, but that is the beauty of 12 hour shifts. Unless you are taking a multi-week vacation you rarely have to use any PTO and you sometimes get some pretty great stretches off in your schedule. This break made for some awesome days off where I got a lot of stuff done, BUT, I may have worked myself a bit too hard because I was pretty worn out by the end of the day. I actually looked forward to going to work (besides the 5am wake up call) so I could relax. Man, that sounds weird to say, but it’s true.  Don’t get me wrong, 12 hour shifts are very long and can be hard, but I will take my extra 2 days off a week anytime. Plus it will be a lot easier (and cheaper!) for day care.

This week I started to notice quite the difference in the way my stomach felt. It felt tight, was uncomfortable to sit on the couch the way I normally do and I HATED having all of the blankets I usually have piled on me touching my belly. All of that makes me so excited! I feel like I’m already so much farther along with things than I was with Deidre. I felt her move a few times, but nothing like what I’m feeling with this little squirt. I think I’m already bigger than I was with her too (she only measured at 16 weeks when I had her) and it is so awesome to see how everything is progressing. I tried to use a doppler at work with Deidre and never had any luck, but this time around I’ve found the heart beat every time. Man, what a feeling that is. I’m a pretty easy-going pregnant woman (besides my random rage sessions, but in all fairness, I’ve always had a temper) and after what we’ve been through I fully intend to enjoy every second of this pregnancy.

Week 16 wrap-up!

How far along? 17 weeks now! Starting to get anxious to see that halfway point.

Maternity Clothes? Just a few shirts for work and leggings. So far I’ve been able to work with most of my other clothes.

Sleep? Not terrible, but would be better if I would stop waking up with Bailey’s a** in my face.

Best moment of the week? Spending time with some newborns at work and being able to listen to Baby Grant’s heartbeat in my downtime at work. I have a good feeling that peanut is going to be a healthy one!

Worst moment of the week? The headaches that seem to have taken up permanent residence in my noggin. Cure anyone?

Awkward moment of the week? It’s a tie between thinking the hair pomade I rubbed on my face was lotion and attempting to talk in the middle of swallowing resulting in me very loudly hacking water out of my lungs…in the middle of the cafeteria at work. I suppose if you’re going to choke, a hospital is a good place for that to happen.

Miss anything? Sleeping on my stomach.

Movement? More flutters and wiggles every day!

Food Cravings? Avocados and Jacobo’s salsa (spice – give me spice!). And orange soda. And fruit.

Anything making you sick? Meat, but I’m still able to eat it most of the time. Textures are the worst.

Gender? Wouldn’t you like to know. Me too. Kind of.

Workouts? Total of 13 miles walked, 1 Mama Yoga session and a few hours spent working away in the nursery. This mama is tired and was glad to work this past weekend!

Mood? Slightly scattered but happy 🙂

Pregnancy Rage? Happy to report that there weren’t any outrageous rants this week. Although my vocabulary is quite extensive when there are idiotic drivers near me on the road. Note to self: the baby can hear you so unless you want a tiny sailor instead of a baby, you’d better stop that.

Looking forward to? Hopefully an end to these headaches. Todays cure was a coke and leftover fried chicken. Strange.

What’s new in Week 17:

Baby continues to beef up. Now she’s about 5.1 inches long and weighs about 5.9 ounces. Her rubbery cartilage is now turning to bone and she’s growing some meat on those bones — putting on some fat. She’s growing a stronger, thicker umbilical cord, too. Try not to get freaked out by the numbers on your scale. At 17 weeks, baby’s working on getting stronger, and your body’s working on getting bigger. That means putting on some pounds and — we hate to break it to you — getting some stretch marks. Make sure you document your growing bump by taking lots of photos. Sure, you might not always feel so pretty, but one day you’re going to look back at pregnancy and reminisce (really — we promise). You’ll also want to start figuring out some plans, like whether or not you’re going to find out baby’s gender (you should be able to soon!), and what kind of childbirth class you’d like to take. As you start making these decisions, the pregnancy will feel even more real, which is probably super exciting, but part of you is probably feeling a little nervous. After all, you’re at week 17; that’s almost halfway there and there’s still a lot left to do. Chill! You’ll get it done. Just remember not to try to do it all yourself — ask for help!

(source)


5 thoughts on “17 weeks

Thoughts?

