18 weeks

Welcome to Week 18!

 It was a pretty low-key week over here at the Grant house. Last week, my work schedule was pretty awesome with a lot of time off. This week was the exact opposite. The down side to working weekends is that you still have to get your full hours in the next week and as a result it feels like all I’ve been doing is going to work this week with very tired legs to prove it.

The plus side to working that many days in a row is the satisfaction of being able to plop down in front of the tv or computer for an hour or so and not feel guilty about it. This week turned into a search for decor for the nursery. I’ve been on the hunt for a new light, some curtains and a cheap area rug for the nursery for quite a while and I’m not having much luck with most of it. I did find a pendant light that I am now officially obsessed with…the problem is it’s from Ikea and it’s not available for purchase online. Perhaps a small babymoon to Colorado and a visit to Ikea is in our near  future? We shall see. 🙂

Week 17 wrap-up!

How far along? 18 weeks as of yesterday! 

Maternity Clothes? Broke out my first pair of actual maternity pants last night. Definitely feeling a difference in the way clothes are fitting me. That forgiving waste band is the best!

Sleep? Meh. Starting to get some of that hip pain I keep reading about. It might be time to invest in a body pillow.

Best moment of the week? Realizing that the actual amount we will get back from taxes is quite a bit higher than I thought it was going to be. That is a surprise I will take any day!

Worst moment of the week? Waking up Saturday morning to no water because a water main broke a few blocks from our house… then driving all the way to my brother’s house to use his shower only to return home to find the water was working again. Not a tragedy though, I got to play with my super cute nephew for a little while.

Awkward moment of the week? Realizing that about halfway into my hour walk on the treadmill that I had been laughing out loud to AFV. Yes, random muscle man on the treadmill next to me, I am crazy and I don’ t care who knows it.

Miss anything? Not really, it’s been a pretty great week.  

Movement? I’ve been starting to feel what I think are actual big movements – like the baby rolling and dancing around. Not for sure that’s what it is yet, but it is pretty exciting none-the-less!

Food Cravings? Still obsessed with spicy food and orange soda or Gatorade.

Anything making you sick? Besides a random mouth full of food or a texture, not really.

Gender? Unknown… Go Team Green!!

Workouts? Total of 10 miles walked and 2 Mama Yoga sessions.

Mood? Very happy and really talkative. My poor husband…

Pregnancy Rage? Pregnancy rage…road rage…is there really a difference?

Looking forward to? The second appointment with our midwife, getting to meet a friend’s brand new baby girl and FINALLY getting my hair cut. Can. Not. Wait.

What’s new in Week 18:

Baby’s become amazingly mobile (compared to you, at least), passing the hours yawning, hiccupping, rolling, twisting, kicking, punching, sucking, and swallowing. And baby is finally big enough that you’ll soon be able to feel her movements.


One thought on “18 weeks

  1. Woohoo the size of a pepper! Although with what I’ve seen you eat baby grant’s scoville (SHU) rating is going to be much higher than a bell pepper.

Thoughts?