19 weeks

Welcome to Week 19!

Yes, I am laughing at myself and yes, if you look close enough you will probably see leftover crumbs all over me from the bag of chips I just demolished 

What a long week at work this past week was. I felt like all I could do was move from the front door to the couch by the time I got home and it seemed to take longer for me to recover on my days off. Needless to say I am very grateful to have had this weekend off and it was just an added bonus that Sean had the weekend off too. He spent a lot of time working in the nursery (he has now banned me from doing anything in there until the last drop of paint dries on the threat that he will tell my mother on me) so I spent a lot of time cleaning the house and starting to go through the other bedrooms that have turned into a disaster area. It makes me tired just thinking about it.

Last night we met some friends for dinner at one of our favorite restaurants and then headed to a fundraiser for the Bethlehem House that was held at the Marleybone. It was a really fun event that included free beer with a canned food or baby item donation, a band and some awesome raffle prizes. We left before the end of the party but got a call from Kailey saying that we won season tickets to Creighton basketball. We’re pretty excited, we never win anything and love us some Bluejays basketball!

Week 18 wrap-up!

How far along? 19 weeks as of yesterday! 

Maternity Clothes? A few shirts here and there, leggings and some pants.

Sleep? Pretty good! Trying to hold off buying that body pillow as long as I can…because I’m cheap.

Best moment of the week? Hearing peanut’s heartbeat at our appointment and seeing how excited Sean was to hear it. Finally getting my hair done was up there too.

Worst moment of the week? Some very loooooooong days at work.

Awkward moment of the week? Trying to stuff a loaf of bread in the silverware drawer. It took me a few minutes to realize what I was doing.

Miss anything? A few cups of nice strong coffee would have made my not so fun work days slightly more enjoyable.   

Movement? More kicks everyday – and they keep getting stronger!

Food Cravings? Spicy food. Cayenne pepper – meet almost everything I put in my mouth. I also seem to be starting an obsession with lemonade.

Anything making you sick? Nope!

Gender? A healthy baby is all that matters.

Workouts? Total of 11 miles walked and a few days cleaning the house. 

Mood? Happy 🙂

Pregnancy Rage? It seems to spew out of my mouth randomly with some very creative vocabulary.

Looking forward to? Feeling more movement that hopefully Sean will be able to feel and celebrating a good friend’s birthday!

What’s new in Week 19:

At 19 weeks, you’re probably getting psyched for your mid-pregnancy ultrasound. Most parents-to-be think of this test as the chance they get to find out baby’s sex. But you actually will see a lot more than baby’s boy or girl parts. The ultrasound technician will scan pretty much scan all of baby’s body to make sure everything’s developing properly. Don’t leave the place without getting some printouts from the scan to take home with you and show off. Of course, going in for your test isn’t the only thing you should be planning ahead for around week 19, you should also probably start the search for a pediatrician. Start by asking some family and friends for recommendations and then make a few appointments to meet with the docs. So what do you think it is — a boy or a girl?

Your baby’s the size of a mango!
At about 6.0 inches long and weighing in at about 8.5 ounces, she’s getting there! She’s developing a protective coating over her skin, called vernix caseosa. It’s greasy and white and you may see some of it at her birth. She is also working on her five senses. Nerve cells for her sense of taste, hearing, sight and smell are developing in her brain.
Thoughts?

