Nursery Inspiration

First off, a little update/brag session on the nursery. Let me clarify: an update on the progress in the nursery and a brag session on the hard work Sean has been doing.

That’s right, one window sanded to bare wood and the other one almost ready to go as well! It may not look like much, but sanding the windows took him all weekend to do. It’s tough work! He did such a great job and I know he was tired and sore after all that work. Way to go, husband! There is still a loooong way to go considering the doors, door frames and base boards still need work, but progress is progress!

Since I started posting updates on the progress we are Sean is making in the nursery, I’ve received a few questions from friends and family asking what themes I had in mind. To be honest – I’m not really a fan of themes. If done right a theme can be cute, but I find that most of the time it looks a bit overdone.

With that in mind, I do have a thing for giraffes. The very first thing I bought when I was pregnant with Deidre was the cutest little toy giraffe. Since then I’ve had my eyes on different things from lamps to art to blankets with giraffes on them and have added a few more things to my collection. While I like giraffes, I’m not going to plaster them all over the nursery. I’m going to use them as colorful accents to an eclectic room. Make sense? Nope, me neither. Basically it’s an “I’m gonna wing it and see what we end up with” nursery.

Since we aren’t going to find out what we are having, we are going to keep everything neutral…but not your typical green and yellow. My style is very eclectic anyways and to me it will make a very colorful. interesting and entertaining space. I turned to Pinterest to get some inspiration and these are some of my favorites.

All pinned here.

We already have an idea of what color we are going to paint and I have a few DIY projects that I can’t wait to get started on. Maybe I’m starting to nest already but I have itchy fingers to get in there to see the freshly painted walls and woodwork and get started on my vision. The best part about it? The paint should be the most expensive part. I can’t wait…keep your eyes open for more updates along the way!

Thoughts?

