20 weeks

Welcome to Week 20! Official half way point!!

Obviously, we seem to be having a wee bit of technical difficulties with taking consistent pictures. For instance, today my camera wouldn’t work in daylight without the flash and Sean apparently couldn’t take a picture without cutting off the top of my head or using this strange angle that gave me a case of wicked Muppet ass.   

I’ve read that you will know when the baby is going through a growth spurt…and man are they right. This week my belly has felt quite a bit tighter than it has before, I can’t eat as much as I normally do without feeling uncomfortably full and I am so dang tired! My normal walks were a chore and I even fell asleep for almost 2 hours after coming home from the gym earlier in the week. And today. I am by no means complaining though – I’ll take a few extra minutes hours of shut-eye so peanut can grow nice and strong, no problem. 🙂

This week also marks the halfway point in this pregnancy and it’s very bittersweet for me. On one hand, I feel like I have really taken the time to absorb and enjoy everything this pregnancy has thrown my way. I’m one of those crazy woman who actually enjoys being pregnant. Every time I feel a wiggle or a kick I stop for a few moments to enjoy peanut’s movements. I’ve been able to document more through this blog and am still excited to be able to use this as my pregnancy diary. On the other hand, it makes me nervous as hell. With Deidre, I was only 1 week farther into that pregnancy when we found out she was diagnosed with Trisomy 18 and it was only a few more days after that when we lost her. I feel guilty for being so excited that everything so far seems to be going smoothly and I am scared at the possibility that this excitement could change into devastation in a split second at our ultrasound tomorrow morning.

I think our initial experience during an ultrasound has changed that experience for the both of us…and not for the better. I’m hoping that will change tomorrow.  I’ve been having flashbacks to the worst day of our lives and I have to keep reminding myself that being nervous is normal, but talking myself into dreading this appointment is not going to do any good. Whatever we hear tomorrow, I have to remember to embrace it and there is nothing we can do to change it. Happy thoughts!!!


Week 19 wrap-up!

How far along? 20 weeks! Time is flying!

Maternity Clothes? A few pants and shirts so far but it’s becoming harder to find things in my normal clothes that fit. Good thing I have some pretty stretchy pants!

Sleep? Really good, but I’ve been exhausted all week and I’m asleep before my head hits the pillow.

Best moment of the week? Can I put food here? ‘Cause food is awesome.

Worst moment of the week? There wasn’t really anything bad about this week.

Awkward moment of the week? Some very strange dreams and my middle of the night bloody nose. I’m sure I was the picture of cuteness when Sean woke up to see me sleeping with a wad of toilet paper shoved up my nose.

Miss anything? Energy. This week was tiring!

Movement? Plenty of kicks, rolls and tumbles going on. Especially today when I was keeping an eye on the score of the Jays game!

Food Cravings? Spicy food…still. And fish and chips.

Anything making you sick? Nope, feeling pretty good!

Gender? Unknown.

Workouts? Total of 12 miles walked. I’m bummed I didn’t get any Mama yoga in again this week but after walking I’ve just been too tired. I may have to adjust the amount that I’m doing at the gym so I can do more yoga.

Mood? Happy but tired. Nervous for tomorrow.

Pregnancy Rage? A few ridiculous outbursts that I felt (and still feel) stupid for later.

Looking forward to? Ultrasound tomorrow with GOOD NEWS and meeting our new nephew!

What’s new in Week 20:

Your baby weighs about 10 1/2 ounces now. He’s also around 6 1/2 inches long from head to bottom and about 10 inches from head to heel — the length of a banana (for the first 20 weeks, when a baby’s legs are curled up against his torso and hard to measure, measurements are taken from the top of his head to his bottom — the “crown to rump” measurement. After 20 weeks, he’s measured from head to toe.)

He’s swallowing more these days, which is good practice for his digestive system. He’s also producing meconium, a black, sticky by-product of digestion. This gooey substance will accumulate in his bowels, and you’ll see it in his first soiled diaper (some babies pass meconium in the womb or during delivery).

(source)

Thoughts?

