21 weeks

Welcome to Week 21!

Couldn’t resist the awesome weather…and the chance to wear some shades!

This is going to be kind of a big week for us. The middle of the week will mark the farthest along I have been in a pregnancy. It’s terribly scary and really exciting at the same time. On one hand, I can’t even put into words how happy I am that this pregnancy is going so smoothly, but on the other it scares me to death remembering that I felt this exact same way with Deidre before we got her diagnosis. Even though there are things that are different this time,  I still can’t help but worry. Granted, we have already gotten the good news that peanut is healthy and I’m sure my blood pressure and anxiety level dropped drastically when we heard the all clear from the doc, but there is still that “what if” question lingering in the back of my head. I have been very good about staying relaxed and calm during this pregnancy, taking every little thing in and adjusting as I need to, but, I will admit that I do have my little freak out moments. They are short, they are internal…but they are there. When I have these, peanut gives me some tiny little kicks as if to say “Don’t worry Mama, I’m doing just fine in here!” and I relax knowing that peanut is safe and sound.

Speaking of Baby Grant’s kicks… I’m pretty sure this little one is going to have some get away sticks like it’s Papa because man are these kicks getting stronger! Peanut loves hearing certain kinds of music, when Bailey snuggles on my belly and when I do yoga… the little turkey goes crazy rolling around and kicking! We’ve been discussing names more and more lately and I’ve been saying some of them out loud so I can hear what they sound like and to see if peanut has any response. I know, I’m weird, but I thought it would be kind of cool if I said a name and peanut kicked we could say that our child sort of had a say in what they were named. So far, no response…but I’ll keep talking anyways. 🙂


Week 20 wrap-up!

How far along? 21 weeks. It’s exciting to have passed that halfway point!

Maternity Clothes? Needing more and more and it’s very frustrating. I need more than I have, but I can’ t bring myself to spend the money when the weather is going to be changing so much. Sweatpants and repeat shirts, it is!

Sleep? Decent. Except when The Husband snores all. night. long. despite how hard I kick him.

Best moment of the week? This is a 3 way tie between our awesome ultrasound, Sean finally feeling a kick (the difference is amazing to me – he said he could barely feel it but it was so strong to me!) and meeting my brand new nephew on Tuesday. I’m looking forward to some super baby snuggles in the next few months. It was a great week!

Worst moment of the week? I was going to say it was the very realistic snake dreams I was having but then the terrible back spasms hit early in the week and I couldn’t do anything without making them worse. Seriously, everything from breathing to my stomach growling just triggered worse spasms. Luckily those didn’t stick around too long!

Awkward moment of the week? Being so full one night when we were out that I had to borrow Sean’s sweatshirt to use as a blanket so I could unbutton my pants and pull up my shirt. Nothing worse than tight clothes on a very full baby belly. Oh yeah, did I mention we were at a bar? Yup, super sexy.

Miss anything? It would have been nice to partake in a celebratory drink with the fam for Owen’s arrival, but the N/A beer I tried instead was actually pretty tasty!

Movement? Tons! The amount (and intensity!) of kicks and rolls has dramatically increased this week. In fact, peanut’s kicks were the last thing I felt before falling asleep last night and the first thing I felt this morning when I woke up. Good Morning to you too, Baby Grant!

Food Cravings? Just food… as I shovel my cereal/yogurt mix in my mouth.  So hungry!! I’ve managed to keep my weight in check and only gain 5 lbs so far which is awesome because I seem to eat all the time.

Anything making you sick? Nada.

Gender? It’s a baby!! That’s all we know…

Workouts? 7 miles walked, 1 session of mama yoga and I actually lifted a little bit. Early in the week was a bit rough with the back spasms so I didn’t do as much as I would have liked – but I felt absolutely fabulous on Friday and tackled a ton of stuff!

Mood? Happy, happy, happy!

Pregnancy Rage? Rage? What is rage? 🙂

Looking forward to? One of my favorite days of the year St. Patrick’s Day! I don’t care if I’m 5 months pregnant…you bet your a** I’ll be out there with the rest of the fools!

What’s new in Week 21:

Your baby now weighs about three-quarters of a pound and is approximately 10 1/2 inches long — the length of a carrot. You may soon feel like she’s practicing martial arts as her initial fluttering movements turn into full-fledged kicks and nudges. You may also discover a pattern to her activity as you get to know her better. In other developments, your baby’s eyebrows and lids are present now, and if you’re having a girl, her vagina has begun to form as well.

(source)

Thoughts?

