24 weeks

Welcome to Week 24, only 4 months to go! And man is time flying…

and my piece of crap camera that now pixelates everything might go flying into a wall sometime very soon…

I’ve hit that point in pregnancy where people are starting to notice that I have an obvious bump and actually ask about it instead of giving me strange looks. On one hand, it’s pretty awesome to hear how excited people are (fake or not) and I generally don’t mind answering all of the repeat questions of how far along, how do you feel, do you know what you’re having, and blah, blah, blah. On the other hand, “How far along are you” is usually followed by a quick “Wow, you are so tiny! Are you sure you are really that far along and the baby is healthy?!” Really?!?! Well, thank you Captain Obvious! I mean, I realize I’m not as big as other women, but I’m certainly not as small as others either. And I’m pretty sure I’m growing a baby, not an elephant, so kindly back up off me before I unleash my barely restrained rage on you. I assure you that I am growing as I should be, the baby is a happy, healthy, bouncing bundle of energy inside of me and there is NOTHING wrong with either of us. In summation…kindly shut your face. 🙂

Week 23 in a nutshell…

How far along? 24 weeks now

Maternity Clothes? Yup, yup and more yup. The one pair of “normal” jeans I could still wear is even waaay to uncomfortable to even think about putting on.

Sleep? Pretty darn good. It helps that I’ve been too busy lately to have my afternoon nap.

Best moment of the week? Snuggling Owen, watching Hooligan kick A** on Saturday night and the awesomely huge chocolate Easter egg and Irish onesie I got from some friends. (Thanks again Jocelyn, Katie and Lizz!)

Worst moment of the week? The sneak peak of swollen feet I got during the Spring Heat Wave of 2012.

Awkward moment of the week? 2 words. Gigantic hooters.

Miss anything? Being able to go up a flight of stairs without wanting to die.

Movement? All the time. Most of the big movements are first thing in the morning and late in the evening. Except, of course, for the steady thumping I’m getting as I type this. “Stop talking about me, Mom!”

Food Cravings? Strawberries. Can’t get enough.

Anything making you sick? Work situations….ugh…

Gender? It’s a….baby!

Workouts? 6 miles at the gym, 2 days of Mama yoga and a few walks with B. Not a very productive week but I’m glad I took it easy after seeing how tired and swollen my feet and legs were on Sunday.

Mood? Happy as a clam!

Pregnancy Rage? Nothing that really stands out. More general bitchiness from being tired than rage.

Looking forward to? Lunch with a long-lost friend on Friday!

What’s new in Week 24:

Your baby’s growing steadily, having gained about 4 ounces since last week. That puts him at just over a pound. Since he’s almost a foot long (picture an ear of corn), he cuts a pretty lean figure at this point, but his body is filling out proportionally and he’ll soon start to plump up. His brain is also growing quickly now, and his taste buds are continuing to develop. His lungs are developing “branches” of the respiratory “tree” as well as cells that produce surfactant, a substance that will help his air sacs inflate once he hits the outside world. His skin is still thin and translucent, but that will start to change soon.

(source)

Thoughts?

