27 weeks

Week 27, holy crap!!

I had been using Picnik to edit my photos but they recently stopped their services. I gave picmonkey.com a whirl this time and had way too much fun editing – although their choices of text aren’t as fun.

Like the end of the first trimester, there seems to be varying thoughts as to when the second trimester transitions to the third. The midwives advise that the third begins at 28 weeks, so I’m sticking with that despite the fact that I reeeaaallllyy want to say that I’ve started the last stretch. So, happy last week of the second trimester! We had another great appointment this week that started with the glucose screening. Despite everyone’s horror stories of the evil orange drink I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was quite tolerable – with the exception of the worst case of acid reflux I’ve ever had within minutes of finishing it. I’m talking the hard to swallow and painful to eat kind of reflux, but it was nothing that some bubbles (what I call basically anything “light” with carbonation right now – Sprite, sparkling water, ginger ale, etc) couldn’t cure.  Not to worry though, I was still able to scarf down my food at our routine after appointment dinner outing. Oh, I suppose I should add that I passed the test with flying colors, too.

Not much else to report. I worked my last stretch of 3 days in a row for hopefully ever, but at least until I’m back from maternity leave in October. We haven’t made any more progress on the nursery and I’m getting  more and more antsy to get it done. We are running out of time and have a pretty busy couple a months ahead of us with other obligations so I’ve been having nightmares about having nowhere to put this baby when it’s here. I (of course) have come up with a few more projects for the nursery that I can work on in the meantime and Sean is planning to build a changing table with my dad. Why not add a few more things to our ever-growing to-do list? Stress? What is stress?

Week 26 in the books…

How far along? 27 weeks. 

Maternity Clothes? It’s pretty hard to find anything non-maternity that fits without looking quite ridiculous.

Sleep? Pretty good except my back needs a total adjustment from sleeping on my left side. Yeeooouucch.

Best moment of the week? Another great check up with the midwife and passing the glucose test with flying colors! Didn’t even turn me off of orange soda.

Worst moment of the week? Not really a worst moment but I’ve been getting more leg cramps which are not fun.

Awkward moment of the week? The over-bearing self-proclaimed pregnancy guru woman at work that claimed I was having a boy after making me stand and staring at my bump for a good 45 seconds. Back off lady, the no touchy rule applies to your eyes too!

Miss anything? Not really. Still loving every second of this.

Movement? All day, everyday! It seems like the majority of the kicks have been on the right side under my ribs.

Food Cravings? My obsession with fruit continues. I can’t get enough strawberries, I should seriously keep count of how many I eat a week. Or juice. Or smoothies. Or fruit flavored soda or candy.

Anything making you sick? Nada.

Gender? Guess we’ll find out in a few short months!

Workouts? Walked around 7 miles and practiced some stretching and relaxation. I’m noticing my energy levels starting to dip.

Mood? Tired, sometimes sad thinking about Deidre but most of the time happy.

Pregnancy Rage? Not really. Besides road rage, but that is normal for me.

Looking forward to? Fiddler on the Roof, a family outing to the zoo and babysitting Owen next weekend!

What’s new in Week 27:

This week, your baby weighs almost 2 pounds (like a head of cauliflower) and is about 14 1/2 inches long with her legs extended. She’s sleeping and waking at regular intervals, opening and closing her eyes, and perhaps even sucking her fingers. With more brain tissue developing, your baby’s brain is very active now. While her lungs are still immature, they would be capable of functioning — with a lot of medical help — if she were to be born now. Chalk up any tiny rhythmic movements you may be feeling to a case of baby hiccups, which may be common from now on. Each episode usually lasts only a few moments, and they don’t bother her, so just relax and enjoy the tickle.

(source)

Thoughts?

