28 weeks

Week 28, hello 3rd trimester!!!

I cannot believe I am already in the third trimester. I will admit that the first trimester seemed to drag on and I attributed that to waiting for our first appointment and waiting for the right time to tell everyone. The next couple months seemed to go by perfectly – not too fast and not too slow. Enough so that I could really enjoy being pregnant. It is a completely different story now. I mean, 28 weeks? Where did you come from?? I have noticed a slight decrease in energy and stamina at the gym so I’ve started cutting back a little bit. I talked with my midwife about exercise at my last appointment and she encouraged me to continue doing what I am doing but to listen to my body. If I started feeling run down because of it – cut it back a little bit. I may transition into doing more yoga during the last trimester to help with both relaxation and my stiff back. My session this past weekend felt amazing!

It may not seem like anything huge, but I finally got the go ahead from Sean that the nursery is ready to be cleaned and prepped to paint. Woohoo!! I spent the majority of the day today vacuuming up dust and mopping the floor. Not to worry – I used both goggles and a mask and my parents loaned us the most powerful shop vac on the planet that had no problem sucking that junk up. I still have to wipe down all of the walls and woodwork but I anticipate that will only take another day to do which means… it will be time to paint! By the time the painting is done, the most fabulous light ever will have arrived and we will be ready to install that and start setting things up!  I know, I know. I get crazy excited about silly things. It keeps me young. 🙂


Wrapping up week 27…

How far along? 28 weeks and entering the final stretch. Can’t believe how fast it is going!

Maternity Clothes? Yup, changing seasons and sizes at the same time is an awkward transition.

Sleep? Great!

Best moment of the week? Not having to work any more 3 in a rows, at least until I come back from maternity leave. Such a difference!

Worst moment decision of the week? Going to the grocery store on a Saturday. Never. Again.

Awkward moment of the week? I can’t really think of anything off the top of my head which either means nothing happened or too many things happened for my brain to sort through. I’m going to go with the second.

Miss anything? Comfortable bras. 

Movement? All the time. Bailey has been getting kicked quite a few times and she just stares at my belly. So funny!

Food Cravings? Strawberries. And Lime Diet Coke, which is weird because I had never had it before.

Anything making you sick? Nope, but I’ve had some pretty bad episodes of heartburn. Luckily it doesn’t stick around for very long.

Gender? Unknown

Workouts? 6 miles at the gym, a day walking around the zoo and some Mama yoga (finally!).

Mood? Pretty darn happy.

Pregnancy Rage? Meh. Nothing extreme, just a few moments of bitchiness.

Looking forward to? A couples shower for some good friends of ours and hopefully getting to meet our new niece or nephew!

What’s new in Week 28:

Welcome to the third trimester! Moms-to-be who are at 28 weeks and beyond are known for their lack of sleep. Remember if you find yourself up in the middle of the night, do something relaxing. This is not the time to vacuum the house from top to bottom — even though you might feel the urge to do that at some point. Read a book, drink chamomile tea, listen to soothing music. Then try to get back to bed and get some rest! Being in the third trimester also means much of your and baby’s anatomy are ready to go — she’s prepping for breathing, and your breasts already have colostrum, which is what baby will eat the first few days until your milk comes in. You’ll also start feeling more Braxton Hicks contractions as your body gets ready for labor. Baby will keep getting bigger — and smarter — after week 28, and other than that, she just needs a few more finishing touches. Your baby’s the size of a rutabaga! It’s putting on layers of fat: your baby now weighs in around 1.5 to 2.5 pounds and measures about 13.6 to 14.8 inches. She’s starting to develop more fat, so her wrinkly skin will start to get smoother. Her lungs are mature enough that she’d probably survive if she was born now. Wow!

(source)

Thoughts?

