29 weeks

It’s hard to believe that I am really this far along. How is that possible? Where did the time go?

This is such a weird picture. We were in an eclectic building that had some interesting art and we immediately thought this wall would be a fun back drop for the weekly photo. Not so much. The strange hall lighting and paint splattered walls made for a photo editing nightmare.


What at week, so many exciting things happened! Sean and I were so excited to meet our new nephew, Kellan Jones, on Thursday. He is a handsome little man and we are pretty proud to add him to our amazing group of nephews. We couldn’t be happier for Paul and Cassie – they are going to be amazing parents and make such an adorable little family. Babysaurus Grant is going to be pretty lucky to have these 3 cousins (and hopefully many, many more!)  to grow up with.

This week we also celebrated at a couples shower in honor of our two good friends, Katie and Lizz, who are getting married in less than a month. Sean grew up with Katie and when I came into the picture we all kind of morphed into a huge group of friends that I am so grateful to know. Lizz and I share a love of crafting and silly significant others who drive us crazy so we bonded pretty quickly. I cannot wait to see these two say their vows and watch their dreams come true. Love you guys!

Also, big news on the nursery front ( for me at least) … we are finally ready to paint and expect that it *should* be done by the end of the week! I spent the better part of 2 days cleaning up the gagillion specks of dust off of every possible surface in the nursery to help get ready to paint. Except the ceiling because my body just doesn’t have the wing span it used to. I was feeling bad that Sean did all of the hard work stripping the woodwork and will be the one to do all the painting, I had to do something to help. Plus it was my way of getting a move on.  I’m pretty stoked to be so close to being able to move all of the baby stuff into the nursery and out of the other 2 rooms that it is currently taking over. Well, that and decorating of course. 🙂

Welcome to the family, Kellan! I can’t wait to watch you grow!

Wrapping up week 28…

How far along? 29 weeks. 

Maternity Clothes? All I can say is thank goodness for sundresses. Everything else is just too hot.

Sleep? Terrible because our air conditioning seems to have a vendetta against the 3rd floor of our house which seems to be a consistently balmy humid temp.

Best moment of the week? Meeting the most recent addition to the family and seeing Paul and Cassie so happy!

Worst moment of the week? The weird episode I had at work where my vision became all blurry and distorted, my whole head was fuzzy and I was terribly weak. I even had a hard time recognizing people, talk about scary! Not to worry, I got checked out and everything is fine. It just seemed to me a crazy pregnancy migraine that affected my vision. Here’s hoping that was the one and only time that happens!

Awkward moment of the week? My dear belly button has turned into a full-fledged outie that now gains more attention than my bump. Especially from my husband who proclaimed “Push it back in!” one night while watching tv. Don’t worry little guy, I still like you.

Miss anything? Comfortable bras and a pain-free back.

Movement? Babysaurus is most active first thing in the morning and when we are relaxing at night but has been doing a lot of rolling more frequently during the day.

Food Cravings? Still with the strawberries. Can you say obsession?

Anything making you sick? Not terribly, but I’ve noticed a difference with the heat affecting basically everything. I can already tell this could be a problem for me in June and July.

Gender? Most everyone had been guessing we are having a boy up till now but more and more people have been changing to team pink. What is your guess?

Workouts? I kind of phoned it in at the gym this week and only did about an hour of cardio total. I’m having a hard time finding the time of day that I have enough energy to do my full workout. Mornings just aren’t working out for me.  I did spend 2 days cleaning the nursery from top to bottom and was exhausted afterwards. We enjoyed a few evening walks and I did a few yoga sessions to help with my back pain.

Mood? I’ve kind of been in a funk this week. Not like a get down boogie kind of funk, more like a woe is me kind of funk.

Pregnancy Rage? I wouldn’t consider it pregnancy rage, but I have been pretty touchy about Deidre lately.

Looking forward to? Hopefully having the nursery painted by the end of the week!

What’s new in Week 29:

Your baby now weighs about 2 1/2 pounds (like a butternut squash) and is a tad over 15 inches long from head to heel. His muscles and lungs are continuing to mature, and his head is growing bigger to make room for his developing brain. To meet his increasing nutritional demands, you’ll need plenty of protein, vitamins C, folic acid, and iron. And because his bones are soaking up lots of calcium, be sure to drink your milk (or find another good source of calcium, such as cheese, yogurt, or enriched orange juice). This trimester, about 250 milligrams of calcium are deposited in your baby’s hardening skeleton each day.

(source)

Thoughts?

