30 weeks

yup…dog photo bombed again

Are there really only 10 weeks (give or take) left? How is that possible? I swear it was just last week that we were arriving for our 20 week ultrasound. Time is still flying by at lightning fast speed and my belly seems to be growing by the minute. I’m to the point now where I can tell where the baby is sitting, which is usually head down with the butt and feet curled towards my right side. Or maybe what I think is the butt is actually the head. Wouldn’t that be an awkward conversation later in life. Anyways, it’s pretty easy to tell which side the baby is on because my belly is pretty lopsided and silly looking. I feel the majority of the kicks under my rib cage on the right and can usually feel a tiny little baby butt (I think) right around my belly button. It is really one of the coolest things ever and I could probably spend hours watching the babe move around. I’ll have to remember to ask our midwife about that whole butt/head thing at our appointment this week.

This week was pretty full of nothing but exhaustion. I’ve been having a very hard time controlling my heart rate and breathing when I do any sort of activity which has made any quality gym time pretty impossible. When I do have extra energy, we’ve been taking Bailey for long walks and I’ve been doing as much yoga as I can. I have read a lot of research about the relaxation, breathing and stretching part of yoga being very beneficial during labor so it’s probably better that I’m spending more time focusing on that anyways.

I’ve read so many different things about women becoming clumsy during pregnancy and I’ve always thought “I’m clumsy as it is right now, it can’t get any worse”. Well I’m here to tell you folks, it is true, and it does happen.  I’ve developed quite a case of the dropsies lately and unfortunately it just seems to get worse the bigger my belly gets which also means the harder it is to bend over to pick up the latest thing that I dropped. I swear one day I’m just going to stop picking everything up and my house will look like a toddler was throwing a temper tantrum. Which might not be too far from the truth if you were to ask my husband about some of my episodes of pregnancy rage.

One final thing I’ve noticed over the past week or two is that I have an incredibly sensitive scalp. Like horribly sensitive. Like my long hair – even though it is really fine and thin – is heavy enough to cause terrible headaches, especially when it is tied up. I’ve always been one of those girls who dreams of having long luscious locks and really work to grow my hair out, but in reality can’t pull it off. Unfortunately, I was not one of those lucky women to have incredibly think, gorgeous hair during pregnancy. In fact, I lose enough in the shower as it is I’m afraid one of these days I will be bald. Lack of patience, wrong face shape, terribly fine hair and my latest scalp sensitivity was enough persuasion to make an appointment for a haircut. I haven’t quite decided how short I’m going to go yet, but at least a few inches. They say not to drastically change your hair while you are pregnant because it is most likely a hormonal decision and I’m trying to remember that. I do have a very bad habit of changing my hair like a chameleon changes colors though so we will see what actually happens…

Leaving week 29 in the dust…

How far along? 30. weeks. Impossible. 

Maternity Clothes? Umm, yes.

Sleep? Pretty good because I was so damn exhausted.

Best moment of the week? Watching the progress on the nursery (it is amazing what a little bit of paint can do, it’s like a whole new room!) and spending Mother’s Day with our amazing families.

Worst moment of the week? Recovering from my self-pity enough to go bra shopping only to discover that not only am I between 2 (giant) sizes, nothing fits right or is remotely comfortable enough for me to consider spending money on. Genetics suck. Needless to say – I left angry, empty-handed and short of breath because that is one hell of a workout.

Awkward moment of the week? See above description of the worst moment of my week. What can I say? I like to over share.

Miss anything? Being able to push my computer cart to the elevator at work without losing my breath.

Movement? We’ve now gone from kicks to mostly rolls and pushes. Every once in a while I have a baby butt or tiny feet pushing out and it is one of the coolest things ever. It’s pointless to do kick counts because Babysaurus moves so much but Sean likes to do it at night while he’s feeling the kicks.

Food Cravings? Strawberries and fresh fruit.

Anything making you sick? Nothing making me sick, everything making me tired.

Gender? Guesses, anyone?

Workouts? What was the theme of this week? Say it with me – exhaustion! I didn’t walk much because not only did my heart feel like it was going to pound out of my chest every time I did some sort of activity but it was hard to catch my breath. My midwife told me to do activity as long as you don’t lose your breath. Hmm… there goes the gym.  I was able to do yoga quite a few times and it felt awesome. It’s probably better to start focusing on yoga right now anyways to prepare myself for labor.

Mood? Half irritable, half happy, all the time exhausted.

Pregnancy Rage? I had a very low tolerance for stupidity this week. 

Looking forward to? More work on the nursery, getting my hair did, a midwife appointment and I think a last-minute baby shower next weekend!

What’s new in Week 30:

At 30 weeks, your belly’s doing more than just making it tough to find a comfortable sleeping position. It’s made itself a conversation piece. Everywhere you go, someone seems to have a comment about your physical appearance, which isn’t always so fun. And no doubt, you’ve encountered quite a few people who don’t think before they speak and say something embarrassing or hurtful (what’s up with that?) Try not to take those comments seriously, but know which ones should be taken to heart. Like when they tell you you’re glowing, believe them! And take advantage of some of the perks (when someone offers you their seat on the train — take it!) At week 30, your dreams might be getting even weirder — if you’re actually sleeping, that is. That could be a result of anxiety, so consider doing some prep work to help you rest easier. One idea? Do a test drive to see exactly how long it really takes you to get to the hospital. Then maybe you’ll stop having nightmares about giving birth in your car. Your baby’s the size of a cucumber (15.2- to 16.7-inch, 2.5- to 3.8-pounds). His skin is getting smoother but his brain is getting wrinklier — to make way for all that essential brain tissue. He’s now strong enough to grasp a finger!

2 thoughts on “30 weeks

  1. Hypnobirthing is awesome to use during L& D, afterwards when your stress level is to the roof & for sleepless nites. Book/cd available on line. Compliments yoga. Bountiful,blissfil, beautiful prenatal yoga book is another good reference (the words in title might be switched around. Enjoy all these moments. It goes so very fast!!

Thoughts?

