31 weeks

 Down to the single digits. Can. Not. Believe. It.

feeling a tiny baby foot that wanted to make an appearance in todays photo

Wow. Just, wow. I thought time was flying before but now we have officially jumped to light speed. And yes, I just made a nerdy sci-fi reference. As of tomorrow we will be 2 months out from our due date and I have a feeling the next 2 months are going to be gone in the blink of an eye. Summers always seem to be crazy busy for us and this one isn’t any different, except that we have a baby due right in the middle of everything. We have our midwife appointments more frequently now, we will be starting a 6 week birthing class (that looks hilarious – more on that later) in the beginning of June, multiple weddings, family and friends coming to visit, the CWS, holidays and who knows what else already fill my calendar. Bring. It. On!

Last night, we went to our very first baby shower and had a blast. My aunt and uncle wanted to host something for us and luckily we were able to even have some out-of-town family attend. It was kind of a spur of the moment couples and kids barbecue and it was so fun. I was nice to see everyone and get to share our excitement with family we don’t get to see very often. Thank you everyone for coming and thank you Mike and Kathleen for hosting! I didn’t get many pictures because I was too busy talking to everyone, but I did get this beauty when we got home.

Isn’t he a keeper, ladies?

Week 30, done and done

How far along? 31 weeks

Maternity Clothes? Yup, added a few new dresses to my wardrobe this week.

Sleep? Really good. I’ve heard people complain that they can’t sleep when the baby is kicking…not me apparently. I can sleep through just about anything with the exception of my husband’s Vader snoring.

Best moment of the week? Yet another glowing review at our appointment, and our first baby shower with family!

Worst moment of the week? It’s not really a “worst moment” or even that terrible but I have had some pretty swollen feet the past few days. I definitely need to get some compression socks. 

Awkward moment of the week? Momentarily forgetting how much my belly sticks out and walking right into a piece of equipment at work. Ouch. I thought my patient was going to faint at my clumsiness.

Miss anything? A good sweat session at the gym. 

Movement? All day, every day but I’ve only felt hiccups once.

Food Cravings? Strawberries and iced chai tea lattes.

Anything making you sick? I’m kind of back on the chicken hating bandwagon. Like the chicken in my chinese the other night….bleeecccchhhh. If it’s a very cleanly cut piece of chicken I am ok with it, otherwise keep it away.

Gender? Most everyone is guessing it’s a boy, but there are a few that are saying girl.

Workouts? Workouts? What are workouts? Oh, that thing where I last for approximately 2 minutes before my heart and lungs want to explode? Ha! I’m going to count Bailey’s walks as workouts this week because I needed a nap and a shower when we came home.

Mood? Happy as a clam!

Pregnancy Rage? Not really any rage, more sadness that people continue to ignore that we have already been through this with Deidre. No this is not our first baby, I vividly remember giving birth to a baby girl last August.

Looking forward to? The nursery should be completely painted this morning which means I get to FINALLY get my happy decorating fingers in there tomorrow!

What’s new in Week 31:

Welcome to week 31. Can you believe all five of baby’s senses are fully developed? He also keeps getting smarter. That’s probably good to know, since you might actually feel a little dumb. You’re not! It’s just that many moms-to-be find themselves acting absentmindedly during the third trimester. Some say that “pregnancy brain” isn’t a proven physical ailment, but can you think of another time in your life when you’ve had more on your mind than now? We’re guessing no. That right there is enough of a reason to be so forgetful. From 31 weeks on, you’re bound to feel a lot of the same symptoms — some may get worse, some may become bearable. And you might start to have more trouble getting around as you get heavier and feel more and more short of breath. Remember not to push yourself too much. It’s good for you and baby to get some exercise, but definitely take breaks to rest as much as you need. Your baby’s the size of a pineapple! He’s about 15.2 to 16.7 inches long and weighs about 2.5 to 3.8 pounds this month. He’s getting so big, he’s probably crowding your lungs.  He’s going through major brain and nerve development – eye development, too. His irises now react to light! All five of his senses are in working order.

3 thoughts on “31 weeks

  1. You can’t just write a blog and say the painting will be done this morning and then wake me up and say go paint. I think I’ll wait until 12: 01 so your blog is full of inaccuracies.

Thoughts?

