32 weeks

I am having a hard time understanding how we are already at week 32. This is just crazy!

i was SO not in the mood for pictures


School is out and summer is here. That means hot weather that is only going to get hotter and sausage feet that are only going to get bigger. I always told myself that I would stay active throughout the entire pregnancy and go to the gym like I always had been. HA! I should have told myself that I wouldn’t lie to myself which is exactly what that was. Heat and swollen legs and feet are kind of a tricky situation. On one hand, I know that I need to relax and elevate my fat little sausage toes whenever I can – but on the other hand I have such a hard time coming to grips with that because I feel so terribly lazy. I also never realized how much swollen feet hurt! My ankles ache from standing on our hardwood floors and the bottoms of my feet are so sensitive. I know, I know. Just what you wanted to hear about.

I’ve been spending a lot of time cleaning the house, organizing and setting up the nursery and taking B for walks. Nesting? Probably. It’s also a case of friends coming to stay with us (soon!) and needing to clear a place for them to stay. Once I got the green light from Sean that the nursery was move in ready I got to work sorting through everything and deciding what was staying or going, organizing everything in the room and getting a general idea how the best “flow” of the room would go. We tried to set up the crib that a family friend gave us so we could decide where we wanted it positioned in the room and quickly found out that we were going to need to buy a new crib. After using about 16 Clorox wipes to clean it (gross!), we realized that it came with absolutely no hardware and was missing some pieces – not to mention the splintered wood and chipping paint. So began the longest, most frustrating crib hunt known to mankind. Seriously, my husband is more of a woman when it comes to shopping that I am. BUT, we found one, it’s set up, looks awesome and we figured out the best placement for it. Small battles = big wins in my book.

I’ve also reached the part of pregnancy that is terribly gastronomically frustrating. I can’t eat much without feeling as stuffed as a Thanksgiving turkey and will spend the next few hours kicking myself for eating so much and appalled at the thought of eating again. Then, at the drop of a hat my stomach abruptly announces how angry it is that I am not depositing food into it immediately and continues to protest until I can satisfy it with sustenance. At which point I will inevitably eat too much and start the entire cycle again. There are, however, other days where I can’t seem to eat enough. Like today. I am famished! Ah well, such is life.

Week 31, over and out

How far along? 32 weeks

Maternity Clothes? Do they make maternity shoes? Cause I need some…

Sleep? Sleeping pretty good, but I can’t get enough.

Best moment of the week? Seeing the progress on the nursery, signing up for our birthing classes and celebrating at a very good friend’s baby shower. She is due the day after me and I am so excited EVEN THOUGH they are moving far away from us – it just gives us an excuse to come visit. 🙂

Worst moment of the week? Breaking down a few times. Gotta love hormone fueled bouts of self-pity. Although, I’d like to think anyone in my situation would have been equally offended and hurt.

Awkward moment of the week? The kids that kept trying to come into my curtained fitting room when I was attempting to find comfortable gigantor bras and the mom who continued to ignore them despite asking her repeatedly to have them stop. While I am against using leashes on my own children, I totally understand why they are made.

Miss anything? I’ve really, really been wanting to go for a long run lately. Not gonna happen with these sausage feet though. 

Movement? Tons. Especially little feet that like to push my belly button out even more. Weird but totally awesome.

Food Cravings? Strawberries, iced chai tea lattes and pizza. Except when we are trying to decide on dinner, then pizza never sounds good.

Anything making you sick? Chicken. That’s right, it has come full circle. Get it away from me! Meat in general isn’t terribly appealing but I can handle steak, hamburger and pork chops. I’ve seriously been considering a vegetarian diet.

Gender? I’ve been hearing different theories and wives tales as to why I’m having a boy or a girl and all of them are conflicting. Any theory or wives tale guesses?

Workouts? Ha! Hahahaha! Workouts, that’s funny. Walking up the stairs – hell, just breathing is a workout! Heat is an angry beast.

Mood? Mostly happy but I hate to admit that I had 2 breakdowns this week. One was terribly pregnancy rage induced and the other was because of plain insensitivity.

Pregnancy Rage? Yup. But I still maintain that I would have been angry about it even if I wasn’t pregnant.

Looking forward to? Our BFF that we don’t see nearly enough is coming to town next weekend to officiate the wedding of some fabulous friends of ours. That’s right Hooligan, I just called you fabulous! It’s gonna be an epic weekend!

What’s new in Week 32:

By now, your baby weighs 3.75 pounds (pick up a large jicama) and is about 16.7 inches long, taking up a lot of space in your uterus. You’re gaining about a pound a week and roughly half of that goes right to your baby. In fact, she’ll gain a third to half of her birth weight during the next 7 weeks as she fattens up for survival outside the womb. She now has toenails, fingernails, and real hair (or at least respectable peach fuzz). Her skin is becoming soft and smooth as she plumps up in preparation for birth.

To accommodate you and your baby’s growing needs, your blood volume has increased 40 to 50 percent since you got pregnant. With your uterus pushing up near your diaphragm and crowding your stomach, the consequences may be shortness of breath and heartburn. To help relieve your discomfort, try sleeping propped up with pillows and eating smaller meals more often.

(source)

Thoughts?

