33 weeks

You’ll have to forgive me – my brain is mush, especially after the awesome but long and exhausting weekend we had. We spent a lot of time catching up with one of our good friends, Paul, that we don’t get to see very often. Usually when he comes to town or we go to see him we have to mentally prepare ourselves for lack of sleep and shenanigans and this weekend was no different. We spent a lot of time laughing, telling stories and taking ridiculous pictures that made me realize just how pregnant I look. This trip was even more special because he came in to marry our friends, Katie and Lizz (I plan on doing a picture packed post of their wedding and gorgeous reception sometime this week). Paul married Sean and I almost 2 years ago and it was so awesome to watch him in action as he married these two wonderful women who were there to celebrate with us at our wedding.

Sean and I both had to work today – which we were dreading – but have tomorrow off and we already have plans to not have plans until our appointment and birthing class. The thought of not having plans is pure happiness to me. In fact, I’m pretty sure I’m just going to relocate myself from the bed to the couch and watch movies all day. My swollen feet and tired legs will appreciate it and my brain definitely needs a break from thinking in general. Plus, I want to be well rested for our birthing class so I can soak up as much information as I can! At some point I will do another post about which class we chose to take, but these jumbled sentences are about as much as I can come up with right now so it’s gonna have to wait. And this is how I feel about that…

Move over, week 32

How far along? 33 weeks as of Saturday

Maternity Clothes? Yup. And Sean’s dress shirts.

Sleep? Sleeping really good except for this past weekend when I was burning the candle at both ends. Baby G’s rolls and jabs still don’t bother me at all when I’m sleeping.

Best moment of the week? The time we spent with friends celebrating the marriage of some pretty great people. It was awesome.

Worst moment of the week? Not getting enough sleep this past weekend. It really wasn’t that bad, but I’m definitely paying for it today. 

Awkward moment of the week? Seeing pictures from the wedding and realizing exactly how ginormous my hooters have gotten. It’s unreal. And ridiculous. And the fact that I had dirt in my cankle creases from planting flowers on Sunday.

Miss anything? I really wanted to do a champagne toast at the reception, but I splurged on a cup of coffee instead 🙂

Movement? Oh yeah. Jump, jive and wail, little one!

Food Cravings? Fresh fruits and veggies, all the time.

Anything making you sick? Definitely chicken.

Gender? Just a few more weeks before we find out!

Workouts? I’m going to go ahead and count cleaning the house, gardening and dancing my pregnant behind off at the wedding as workouts. My swollen feet can speak for that as well.

Mood? Pretty darn happy.

Pregnancy Rage? Not really anything noteworthy this past week.

Looking forward to? An appointment with our midwife, the first night of our birthing class and Gateway to the West Days this weekend!

What’s new in Week 33:

This week your baby weighs a little over 4 pounds (heft a pineapple) and has passed the 17-inch mark. He’s rapidly losing that wrinkled, alien look and his skeleton is hardening. The bones in his skull aren’t fused together, which allows them to move and slightly overlap, thus making it easier for him to fit through the birth canal. (The pressure on the head during birth is so intense that many babies are born with a cone-head like appearance.) These bones don’t entirely fuse until early adulthood, so they can grow as his brain and other tissue expands during infancy and childhood. As your baby fills out even more of your belly, lots of things might start to change: Whereas before you were sashaying, you may find yourself waddling. Finding an easy position to sit in — let alone sleep — is becoming more of a challenge. And bumping into chairs and counters is par for the course. You may be feeling some achiness and even numbness in your fingers, wrists, and hands. Like many other tissues in your body, those in your wrist can retain fluid, which can increase pressure in the carpal tunnel, a bony canal in your wrist.

(source)

Thoughts?

