36 weeks

there’s an itttty bitty sneak peek of the nursery. i will do a full reveal soon, i promise.

36 weeks. Wow. Hard to believe.

Anyone sick of hearing me say that yet? I was hoping things would start to slow down towards the end of June so that I had some time to breath and get my thoughts together. That has not happened and my thoughts and to-do lists have gotten so jumbled, I don’t know where to begin. The good news is, the nursery may not be 100% done but is ready if the little one decides to come early. We don’t have our bag packed yet – which is something I didn’t realize people would be so obsessed about – but I’m not worried about it at all. We will spend the majority of the time while I am in labor at home and will only head to the hospital when I am fully in active labor to avoid unneccessary hospital interventions so we will have pleeenty of time to throw some stuff together. For little squirt? We have diapers, we have wipes, we have a crib, we have bottles and a pump, and we have clothes. Everything else is smooth sailing. Of course, my inner control freak is dying to get every single last detail done…but I have come to terms that every item on my list might not get done and am alright with that.

This past weekend, my sister threw an amazing baby shower for me. I will do a special post with pictures and details about it soon, but I had to brag about it for just a minute. She did such a great job. The decorations were perfect, the food was awesome and just what this pregnant girl craves and the company was better than I could have asked for. Thank you everyone for coming and bringing Babysaurus such amazing gifts. Thank you, thank you, thank you, Katie for making it such an awesome day!

I also have to take a minute to wish a belated Happy Birthday to my sister-in-law, Kailey, and my father-in-law, John, who both celebrated their birthday’s this past weekend. We were able to spend some time with both of them partying, enjoying a Little Mermaid themed birthday dinner (Legs!!!) and watching some baseball. Time really has gotten away from me and I feel terrible I didn’t get a chance to post on their birthdays. Happy late Birthday’s, both of you!

You’re outta here, Week 35!

How far along? 36 weeks

Maternity Clothes? Yup. I can’t even wear my old t-shirts anymore, I have to steal Sean’s so my belly doesn’t show underneath.

Sleep? Pretty good except my trips to the bathroom every 2 hours and episodes of restless legs when I come back to bed.

Best moment of the week? There are so many! It was such a good week. Father’s Day, Kailey’s Birthday (Happy Birthday again!), my father-in-law’s birthday (Happy Birthday to you as well!), a rock star appointment with our midwife and an amazing baby shower that my sister threw for me!

Worst moment of the week? I didn’t really have any terrible moments, but I guess I could say the wicked swollen feet I had this weekend would fit here.

Awkward moment of the week? Probably walking around my house before the shower in a dress that showed an obscene amount of cleavage without realizing it. Luckily I looked down and noticed it before the guests arrived. Whew! Boob bullet dodged.

Miss anything? Comfortable summer clothes.

Movement? Tons. Especially after the naval flyover at a baseball game this weekend. Babysaurus does not like loud noises.

Food Cravings? Fruit. Duh. And veggies.

Anything making you sick? The humidity. It’s gross out.

Gender? It’s kind of half and half right now…a few more votes for a boy coming in this week.

Workouts? No time for workouts. Plenty of cleaning though.Ā 

Mood? Happy and extremely excited!

Pregnancy Rage? I don’t think I had any extreme pregnancy mood swings this week. Score one for me!

Looking forward to? Free concert and fireworks on Friday, fireworks and friends on Saturday and another baby shower hosted by my fabulous sister-in-laws on Sunday!

Labor signs? I’ve been having some Braxton Hicks off and on for the past few weeks but I did have some pretty intense contractions last night immediately after a flyover at the stadium by the Naval Aviators. Negative ghost rider- the pattern is full!!

What’s new in Week 36

Your baby is still packing on the pounds ā€” at the rate of about an ounce a day. She now weighs almost 6 pounds (like a crenshaw melon) and is more than 18 1/2 inches long. She’s shedding most of the downy covering of hair that covered her body as well as the vernix caseosa, the waxy substance that covered and protected her skin during her nine-month amniotic bath. Your baby swallows both of these substances, along with other secretions, resulting in a blackish mixture, called meconium, will form the contents of her first bowel movement.

At the end of this week, your baby will be considered full-term. (Full-term is 37 to 42 weeks; babies born before 37 weeks are pre-term and those born after 42 are post-term.) Most likely she’s in a head-down position. But if she isn’t, your practitioner may suggest scheduling an “external cephalic version,” which is a fancy way of saying she’ll try to coax your baby into a head-down position by manipulating her from the outside of your belly.

(source)

4 thoughts on “36 weeks

Thoughts?

