37 weeks

37 weeks. Full term, baby!

apparently I forgot how I’ve been posing for the past 17 weeks.

We’re finally rounding out what has been a pretty awesome pregnancy and nearing the point where we finally get to see this beautiful baby that has been so cozy in my belly since October. Babysaurus is officially full term this week and that puts this mama’s mind at ease that much more. Most everything is done in the nursery, everything we need for this little one is here and some of the cutest, tiniest baby clothes ever are in the dryer as we speak ready to be hung on the worlds cutest, tiniest hangers. It’s smooth sailing from here on out.

I’m kind of a mix of emotions right now. On one hand, I am beyond excited to meet Babysaurus… to see if it’s been a baby girl or a baby boy that has been stretching my belly further and further. I can’t wait to spend that first hour after they are born alone with my new little family. We are so lucky that the Midwife group we are using encourages couples to take that first hour when babies are so alert and spend it together as a family. It makes me a bit teary eyed just imagining it. On the other hand, I know that I am going to miss being pregnant and feeling this little butterball rolling around in my belly where I know they are safe and sound. I imagine that feeling will disappear pretty quickly when I get to look into that cute baby face every second of the day though.

This past weekend, my awesome sister-in-law’s hosted a baby shower for me. It was a great, relaxing afternoon complete with strawberry shortcake – one of my absolute favorites. No silly games, surrounded by family and friends and great food? Couldn’t have been more perfect. Thank you, Kailey and Jeni, for having such a great day planned!

Adios, Week 36!

How far along? 37 weeks and loving it.

Maternity Clothes? Clothes suck right now. It’s too hot and humid to want to wear anything that covers my legs, but my giant cankles – that have now just become one size from my knees all the way to my toes – are too embarrassing to show off in public.

Sleep? I’ve been waking up pretty consistently around 5am, which isn’t too far off from when I normally get up to go to work.

Best moment of the week? An awesome baby shower thrown by my fabulous sister-in-laws, a great fireworks show and concert, and a fun-filled day with fireworks and friends. Try saying that five times fast.

Worst moment of the week? The disgustingly humid weather that made my legs swell to the size of the goodyear blimp wasn’t that fabulous.

Awkward moment of the week? I’m gonna have to go with our “at-home labor practice” in birthing class. Buckets of ice water and spooning on the floor…that’s all I’m gonna say.

Miss anything? Shoes that fit. Damn you fat bastard feet.

Movement? Still a movin’ and a shakin’!

Food Cravings? Anything fresh. Mostly fruit and veggies.

Anything making you sick? I will say this was the first week throughout the entire pregnancy that I actually thought I was going to be sick a few times and carried a bucket with me around the house. Heartburn is for sucks.

Gender? I’m so excited to find out!

Workouts? Ha! That would mean I have to fit into my shoes!

Mood? Excited and a little bit stressed about a few things we need to wrap up. Sooner rather than later.

Pregnancy Rage? Not really pregnancy rage, just exhaustion induced tears.

Looking forward to? *Hopefully* finishing up the few things we have left to do and spending the 4th of July with my family – after I have to work all day.

Labor signs? Nothing definite.

What’s new in Week 37

Get excited. At 37 weeks, your baby has reached full term. That means he’s developed his most crucial functions. Of course, he’ll get even healthier and stronger over the next few weeks, so don’t get too impatient. Around week 37, many moms-to-be find themselves organizing cupboards and scrubbing their floors. That’s the nesting instinct kicking in as your body senses baby will be here shortly. It also might be your brain’s way of making sure you’re prepared for just about anything, so you can feel like you have an extra edge on this whole new parent thing.

(source)

2 thoughts on “37 weeks

Thoughts?

