38 weeks

38 weeks and feeling every day of it.

I was trying so hard not to duplicate outfits for my weekly shots but being sick with no energy made it so easy not to be creative this week.

Oh, what a week it has been. I knew that all of my raving about how great this pregnancy has been would come back to bite me in the rear end. After our fiasco of an appointment last week ending with a few hours in L & D followed by a few days left to wonder what was wrong, we finally started to breathe a little easier. That is, until Sunday when I woke up to go to work not feeling well and grew worse by the minute. I lasted at work for about 3 hours before heading home.

I spent the next few hours trying to get some rest in between some pretty intense contractions and trying very unsuccessfully to eat or drink anything. Pretty soon, every joint in my body hurt, I wasn’t able to keep anything down and I wasn’t feeling the baby move as much so I finally called our midwife’s answering service late in the afternoon. We’ve been told over an over again that getting sick is a sign that labor has started because it’s the body’s way of cleaning itself out. Pair that with the contractions I was having and I was sure this was it. After answering the same questions over and over again, they advised us to head back in to L&D. So…we packed up the car and headed to the hospital thinking the next time we came home we would have a baby with us. Nope. Guess again.

Turns out whatever bug I had hit me so hard so quickly that I was severely dehydrated which aggravated my “irritable uterus” causing false labor. Let me tell you, that was not the only thing that was irritable. A few bags of saline through an IV and 2 intensely painful cervical checks later, we were sent on our merry way back home and I still feel pretty awful.

I’ve been taking it easy the last 2 days, not doing much of anything besides laying on the couch and trying to eat what I can…which isn’t much. Yesterday was our 2 year anniversary so we ventured out for dinner thinking that I would be just fine. That was probably a mistake because we came home right afterwards with me feeling pretty nauseous for the rest of the night (hence the terribly unenthusiastic look on my face in this weeks picture). Such is life, my friends. Speaking of which – the couch is calling my name so let’s wrap this up.

Leaving week 37 in the dust…

How far along? 38 weeks and starting to feel it.

Maternity Clothes? Yup. And everything is pretty uncomfortable.

Sleep? I’ve had a terrible case of restless legs for the past few days. Pair that with crappy itchiness and being sick – I haven’t been sleeping the best.

Best moment of the week? Snuggling Owen on the 4th of July.

Worst moment of the week? Either the crappy experience at L&D last week or being horribly sick and dehydrated on Sunday. I still don’t feel that great.

Awkward moment of the week? 2 words. Hospital gowns.

Miss anything? Being able to eat.

Movement? Yup.

Food Cravings? White cherry Icee’s.

Anything making you sick? Everything. Food in general sucks.

Gender? I have a feeling we will be finding out pretty soon!

Workouts? Not even going to answer this.

Mood? Sick. Nervous energy. Tired.

Pregnancy Rage? Too tired for rage.

Looking forward to? HOPEFULLY a good appointment with our midwife tonight.

Labor signs? I was pretty damn sure I was in labor on Sunday – since then, nothing.

What’s new in Week 38

Your baby has really plumped up. She weighs about 6.8 pounds and she’s over 19 1/2 inches long (like a leek). She has a firm grasp, which you’ll soon be able to test when you hold her hand for the first time! Her organs have matured and are ready for life outside the womb.

Wondering what color your baby’s eyes will be? You may not be able to tell right away. If she’s born with brown eyes, they’ll likely stay brown. If she’s born with steel gray or dark blue eyes, they may stay gray or blue or turn green, hazel, or brown by the time she’s 9 months old. That’s because a child’s irises (the colored part of the eye) may gain more pigment in the months after she’s born, but they usually won’t get “lighter” or more blue. (Green, hazel, and brown eyes have more pigment than gray or blue eyes.)

(source)

Thoughts?

