and onto the next project…

Now that Amelia is here and we’ve had a chance to fall into a routine, I’ve been thinking a lot about the next project I want to do around the house. One of my “promises” (goals) for 2012 was to re-do a room from start to finish. I knew I was pregnant when I made that promise, but I was still happy to be able to put a big ‘ol check mark next to it when we finished the nursery. The best part is, we still have plenty of time to do one more decent project before the year is up.

There are quite a few things that I want to do, the biggest problem is going to be choosing which one to do. (Forgive the lack of pictures…I’m blogging from my non-blogging friendly phone)

– The entryway/living room needs a major overhaul. The bones of the room and the colors are good, but half of the room is bare with only a bookcase and the other half is packed with a huge sectional, coffee table, rocking chair and another bookcase. HGTV…you’re welcome to pop on over and help a girl out…

– The first floor is in desperate need of better window coverings. Right now, all we have is the old school tan metal blinds that were left from the previous owners. They aren’t great, but they are sturdy and they work. I need to sweet talk my friend, Lizz, into coming over to help me do what she did to her kitchen blinds. Because she’s awesome and they look pretty sweet.

– The tiny hallway from the garage to the kitchen needs a fresh coat of paint. It wouldn’t even take a day to do, I just need to pick a color and commit…

– My dream project would be to rip up the disgusting cracked kitchen floor and start from scratch…but that is wishful thinking. We don’t have the time nor the money to tackle that right now. Although, I am still hopeful that there is pristine wood floors waiting to be discovered underneath the 1980’s laminate…

– My other dream project would be to paint our kitchen cabinets. The cabinets are decent, but I think the dark wood makes the kitchen seem kind of dreary. I am still kicking myself for not taking the time to do it before we moved in. I would also update the hardware and would like to take down the current backsplash and update it with some subway tile. You know…all easy projects. šŸ™‚

Every one of those things is on the main level of our house. I’m kind of at the point where I want to finish a level before moving on to another. Looks like I’ve got some work to do…

Thoughts?

