three months!

Oh how you have changed, Miss Amelia! I can hardly believe how much you have grown over the past month.

You started this month off absolutely hating tummy time (you still do-you scream the entire time!) and unable to support your head on your own – but now you are so strong! You support your head fully on your own, even though you are a bit shaky from time to time, and would much rather be up looking around than laying down in my arms. In fact, the only time you like laying down in my arms is when you are super cuddly or when you are sleepy. Then, you curl right up, reach your little hand up to my neck and start snoozing. You are so, so curious of your surroundings! You love sitting on my lap or bouncing on my knee, you get the BIGGEST smile when you realize that you are sitting up facing me with just a little support under your arms. Love it! Makes me melt. Every. Time.

You discovered your hands at the beginning of the month and we could hardly keep them out of your mouth. Sometimes, you are so hungry when you wake up we have to get your hand out of your mouth so we can give you a bottle! Silly girl. I love it. I love seeing you so excited. We kept working on grabbing toys, and by the end of the month you were not only grabbing toys but shoving as many of them as you could into your mouth. You could be entertained for hours on your exercise mat playing with your toys.

You’ve started to show more interest in different kinds of toys as well, it’s fun to see your curiosity grow every day.  Your favorite toy right now is your “lovie” that Aunt Jo sent you. You nuzzle into it’s neck right before you go to sleep and it might be the cutest thing I’ve ever seen.

You smile all the time when we are at home. You are really turning into the sweetest, happiest baby I could have imagined. You don’t smile quite as much when we are out and about, but I think that you are just so curious of your surroundings that you are concentrating too much to smile. And you laughed this month. Oh man, did you laugh. It was the best thing your papa and I have ever heard. Papa must have hit the right spot when he was tickling your squishy little tummy because your giggle echoed through the house. I tried and tried to get you to giggle the rest of that day, but you just weren’t having it. Papa is going to have to teach me his trick!

Your cute little giggle came in perfect timing because I was feeling pretty bummed about going back to work. It was so hard for me to leave you, especially for my super long shifts at the hospital, but you handled it like a champ. In fact, you handled it way better than I did. You were a rock star at daycare the first few days and were so, so cuddly and smiley when we picked you up. The very first night when I picked you up, you were so smiley and excited to see me, but so so tired at the same time. When we got home I rocked you, like I do every night before bed, and you held onto my hand with your perfect little hands so tightly before you fell asleep. Every once in a while you would wake up, frantically look up at me as you grabbed onto my hand again as if to make sure I was still there. It almost broke my heart! Don’t you worry little girl, Mama’s not going anywhere.

It’s also safe to say that you inherited your papa’s ability to sleep forever, too. You don’t take many naps during the day, but you will sleep from 7-9 hours at a time. When you wake up, you either want your paci or a bottle and then usually go back to sleep for another couple of hours. I’m totally going to jinx myself here, but we may be the least sleep deprived new parents – or at least would be if we went to bed at a decent hour. It’s pretty awesome. You’re awesome.

 We went outside to check out the leaves and you always get the funniest look on your face when that cool breeze hits your squishy cheeks. I hope that you like Fall as much as I do, and my love of Fall has only grown after seeing you in some of the worlds cutest sweaters. Who couldn’t fall in love with those cheeks and that hoodie??

I can’t wait to see how you grow over the next month. We get to celebrate your first Halloween and my first birthday as your mama. I love you so much, sweet girl. You are the best birthday present I could ever want!

2 thoughts on “three months!

Thoughts?

