five months

5months

My dear, sweet, Cheeks Malone – you have changed so much in the past month, it’s been so fun to see. Fun, but sad. I can’t believe that you are already 5 months old, please stop growing so fast! I was just looking through some pictures of you when you were teeny tiny and it’s so hard for me to think that you were ever that small…and I know I’m not the first mama to ever think that. We love watching our babies grow and learn, but it is bittersweet at the same time.

IMG_2601

You finally decided that tummy time wasn’t such a bad thing after all and you figured out that you can roll onto your back right away making it a little game. When you are on your tummy, you are so much stronger than you used to be and will sit and play with your toys or chew on your hands. It’s pretty darn cute. You still haven’t rolled over all the way from your back yet, but you get sooo close. I think that your belly gets in the way and you get so frustrated when you can’t get all the way over. It’s ok, little one, you’ll get there.

IMG_2642

You love standing up and practicing sitting on your own. You can usually balance on your own for quite a while, but I’m always sitting close by so I can catch you if you tumble over. Just recently, you discovered that you really like the exersaucer and you will happily bounce around in there for quite a while. More and more, you like being up instead of laying down. And you love sitting on my belly while I lay on the ground. You giggle and squeal and talk so much, you make me laugh watching how excited you get.

IMG_0055

You got sick for the first time this month, but thankfully it was only for a day. I think there might have been a secret film crew making a new ‘baby exorcist” movie because you spit up a lot. I mean…A LOT. Like the projectile, clear across the room  kind of spit up. Right into your papa’s mouth. I felt so bad that your little tummy was upset, but I’m pretty sure I haven’t laughed that hard in a long, long time.

IMG_0176

You celebrated your first Thanksgiving this month, too. Mama had to work (which was very, very hard) so we celebrated a little early with my family and then you spent Thanksgiving day with Papa and his family while I was at work. It was so hard for me to be away from you on a holiday, and I hope that eventually I won’t have to spend holidays working the day away. We also celebrated “Friendsgiving” at our house with all of our friends and bless your heart, you slept straight through the crazy amount of noise everyone was making. Such a good little sleeper.

IMG_2583

You also ate rice cereal for the first time this month. The first time we gave it to you, you weren’t quite sure about it, but you must have decided that you liked it because now we can’t give it to you fast enough. You yell at us, lean into the spoon and even lick at it if we aren’t quick enough. I can’t wait to start you on actual food – your facial expressions are priceless already, I can’t wait to see what they will be when you try different food.

IMG_0069

I can’t wait to celebrate your first Christmas in a few short weeks. I am lucky enough to have it off so I can spend the day with you and our families. You love all of the twinkle lights and were mesmerized the first time it snowed. Your Oma says that your are her little elf because you have the cutest, chubbiest little cheeks. I swear, I could kiss them forever.

IMG_0083

What a fun few months it’s been, and even though they have gone by so, so fast…I can’t wait to see you grow more and more. I love you, sweet Millie, you make us the happiest parents ever 🙂

IMG_0167

Thoughts?

